Staff & Board


Bryant works with staff, stakeholders, and the organization’s Board of Directors to execute the organization’s strategic priorities.

A native of East Baltimore, Bryant was selected to lead the organization after a distinguished career as an Urban Forester with the Baltimore City Department of Recreation and Parks. In a career spanning nearly thirty years, he has served in senior leadership positions with the U.S. Forest Service and environmental nonprofits across the Chesapeake Bay region.

Bryant is a past Warnock Foundation Fellow, as well as a licensed commercial pilot, who, in 2015, founded and led Flight One Carriers to fly relief missions to victims of hurricanes and other natural disasters. 



Justin oversees our staff and community partnerships to implement the organization’s core programs – Trees for Public Health, Urban Roots Apprenticeship, and Putting Down Roots.

Beginning his career at the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, Justin has over 8 years of experience in urban ecology and watershed conservation. While completing Master’s Degrees in Landscape Architecture and Conservation Ecology at the University of Michigan, he served as the chief caretaker of the university’s botanical gardens and arboretum.

Justin is an ISA-certified arborist and co-chair of the Baltimore City Forest Conservancy District Board. 

Get in touch with Justin 


Starting his tree-care and maintenance career at just 15 years old, Kwamel is now a self-proclaimed outdoorsman who loves to see his work grow.

Prior to joining BTT, Kwamel spent several years with Civic Works, Cylburn Arboretum, and a privately-held residential landscaping company. Kwamel was the recipient of the first annual Ed Miller Award and the 2015 Volunteer of the Year award from Civic Works.

Kwamel is currently completing his certificate in Sustainable Horticulture at the Community College of Baltimore County. 



Margaret Baldwin

David Bramble 

Christopher Feiss

Alex Fisher

Robert Gray

Doug Holthaus

Allan House

Chris Mfume

Joan Plisko

Thomasina Poirot

Ashley Principe

Mark Smolarz

Annie Umbricht

Chad Vrany 

Michael Woollen





Jane Brown

Howard Cohen

W. T. Dixon “Dick” Gibbs

Barbara Shea




Tom Horton